Hunting for Horses

So I know that I am here to study horses but I just can’t help myself with all the wild flowers.  Below is a picture of one of my 2 year olds -Cache.  I have been taking him out into the park once a week to ride and look for horses.  The other photo is of a stallion named Blaze.   With a left blue eye, roan color, wild hair and big presence, he’s everything you would hope a wild stallion to be.  This ecosystem is so diverse and I am amazed by something everyday. This morning I saw a mother turkey with her brood.  They were walking up a hill and took off in flight and perched up in a tree.  These babies are the size of my fist and they can already fly.  Pretty cool.  The project is going well.  We have a young foal with a broken leg and it’s been hard to watch her struggle to keep up with mom and the rest of the band. The horses here are treated as wild animals as they live and die by the laws of the land…something very hard to get accustomed to with a background heavily dependent on fixing things and ending suffering. I hope the coyotes take her soon so she doesn’t have to try to survive any longer.  The Bad Lands are rough and unforgiving in such ways.  The people here are survivors, the cattle thrifty and the wildlife strong.  You have to be tough if you are going to make it in this place.

    • Aimee Oke
    • June 7th, 2010

    Just gorgeous! The pictures of the horses and the wildflowers are beautiful. I look forward to reading more about what you see in the weeks to come!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

